Columbiana County Pages

USGenWeb Pages


Click for Lisbon, Ohio Forecast


This page was last modified:
July 2024


Columbiana County OHGenWeb is a free genealogical and historical collection of information provided by volunteers. We hope you find helpful clues for your research of ancestors and relatives of Columbiana county.

This county is available for adoption.
Please contact the State Coordinator

These Pages are being revised, please update your bookmarks! Some of the pages may not be available during the rework.

Many thanks to all of the contributors and the former Volunteer County Coordinators, Mary Ann Hetrick, Peggy Tebbetts, Sandra Quinn & Jack Pike for all their time and hard work.

If you find anything wrong with any of the pages on this site please don't hesitate to let me know. If you have any new ideas of what you would like to see on this site you can also contact us.

You can help!

I need you to help to make this a better site! Please volunteer for lookups, or donate source materials. Donations of photographs, historical articles, family biographies, school and class pictures for the Columbiana County website are always welcome. If you have anything to share - please consider letting us post it online. It is a great way to meet other researchers and share our wonderful heritage.

The Columbiana County, OHGenWeb is a proud part of the OHGenWeb and The USGenWeb Projects. You can Learn more About us. If Columbiana County is not the County your looking for look at The OHGenWeb County Selection Page.

Columbiana Facts

US Census Map

Columbiana County was created on March 25, 1803 from Jefferson and Washington Counties . This county was named for the European explorer of the Americas Christopher Columbus. The Columbiana County Seat is located in Lisbon

Since Columbiana County was erected its territory has been reduced at three separate times: by the formation of Stark County on the west, in 1808; Carroll County on the south, in 1832; Mahoning County on the north, in 1845.

Columbiana County has a total area of 534 square miles, and is composed of 18 townships: Butler, Center, Elkrun, Fairfield, Franklin, Hanover, Knox, Liverpool, Madison, Middleton, Perry, Salem, St. Clair, Unity, Washington, Wayne, West, Yellow Creek.

Earliest Available Dates of Vital Records

Birth Marriage Death Land Probate Court
1867 1803 1867 1798 1803 1803

neighboring counties


Columbiana County's Neighbors


Columbiana County Message Boards